Don’t Kid Yourself

12957489_10208381414987282_6453156153595460789_o

It happened: I finished exams and went straight into relaxation. It’s been a tough final year and I can wholeheartedly say I’ve never worked so hard and so consistently. There have been many a day and night spent awake at my PC, sometimes with caffeine, sometimes without that luxury, because this year I wanted to try my best at being consistent. I still haven’t nailed it, but if my results come through on Wednesday and I’ve made it onto an extra Masters year then of course I’ll be over the moon, but I’m certain I’ll approach the extra year with even more determination. If I’m not improving then I’m wasting my time.

In the meantime I’ve tried my best not to think of the alternatives, I mean exams aren’t my strong point so there’s a possibility that I haven’t managed to achieve the 2:1 and I’ll have some serious rebuilding to do. Debt, futures plans, almost everything will need rethinking, and honestly I hope it doesn’t come to that. Football has been my escape, when I play I forget about everything else and it helps, for a while all I really see or think about are motion blurs and a passion to be something spectacular. Do I ever hit this target? Not really. Maybe once or twice I’ve managed to really focus and play how I know I can play.

Other than this I’ve acquired a taste for exercise that I’ve never really had before. I’ve been running, been to the outdoor gym (which is hilarious because I’m tiny), been swimming, and every time my competitive nature kicks in and forces me to cross boundaries I used to struggle to cross. It’s easier now, there’s an obvious divide between my level of fitness and others who do exercise more casually. Fitness breeds fitness, and if there is one thing I would recommend to literally everybody, it would be to start slowly, do what you can and make sure you enjoy it, and the fitness will come later, naturally. For me that passion is football, but if it’s hockey or running or anything else then I’m 100% confident that will work too. Except yoga. Don’t kid yourself with that it won’t do anything for your fitness.

 

Leave a comment