Wait Again

Zelda-W055

My exams are over, great, time to relax and forget about all the stress and work of the past few months. This year has been a rough start for sure, and for all the hard work it might  not even pay off the way I want it to. I mean, I’m hovering somewhere in the middle of a 2:1 and a First, but exams aren’t my forté and it’s always apparent around this time every single year of my academic life. I’m just not suited to exams, or more likely, exams aren’t suited to me. That’s irritating.  I’m better at my course than most of the kids  who are good at exams but they’ll still come out with a better grade and I’ll end up with a second rate job. That’s just not the future I’m after.

This sort of thing is really stressful, the future I’ve been working for is pretty much over if I get a 2:2 and I’ve been having some dark thoughts about the alternatives. I try not to go there, after all, what can I do now? Nothing. I just have to sit and wait. Again.

To keep my mind busy and at ease I’ve been indulging myself in more games, just like I used to, and it serves as a good distraction most of the time. But not all of the time. Amongst other things I’ve tried to get back ‘on the market’ as it were. Nothing too drastic, just picking up a few conversational threads that I haven’t touched in a long time, some people I thought I’d forgotten about. Mixed results really, but nothing to get excited about overall. I’m exploring some avenues and that’s the main thing, keep your eyes open and eventually you’ll find what you’re looking for.

 

2 Comments

Add yours →

  1. I know how you feel. I just got off of college exams two weeks ago and that was a pretty bad time. And it sucks to know in your heart you could’ve done better, yet you have to wait for the results you can’t change. I’m not exactly in tuned to your specific situation and how those exams will effect your job outlook, but based on what you said I’m willing to bet that your overall performance outweighs those exams. As a reality I had to face while waiting for my grades to roll in, one of which I was at risk of failing, sometimes things just work out. If they don’t, simply deal with things as they occur, because it’s much more liberating than stressing it before the fact. I’m sure it’s not exactly game over with just one test.

    For what it’s worth, I hope everything works out. Enjoy life; you’ve earned it!

Leave a comment